So What Did You See Outside Your Window Today?

I was looking my window today and happened to see a cattle drive passing in front of my house. Ho-hum.

Well, in a way it was — the first few years I lived here the twice yearly drives fascinated me, but after a while I got used to them. As I looked out the window today, though, it occurred to me I could be seeing one of the world’s last cattle drives, so I grabbed my camera, stood in my driveway, and took these pictures.

cattle-drive-007

cattle-drive-004a

cattle-drive-014a

cattle-drive-008

cattle-drive-017b

Although it looks like it could be the end, these ranchers are still sitting pretty.

***

Pat Bertram is the author of the suspense novels Light Bringer, More Deaths Than One, A Spark of Heavenly Fire, and Daughter Am I. Bertram is also the author of Grief: The Great Yearning, “an exquisite book, wrenching to read, and at the same time full of profound truths.” Connect with Pat on Google+. Like Pat on Facebook.

Leave a comment